Switching the focus: hot and strong vs. emaciated

Standard

So, I had a bit of an epiphany there a few days ago about my body, and how there ARE things that I like about it. I really like that I am a strong girl. I always have been, especially since I was competitively rowing while I was a teenager and still growing, and even though I haven’t really been an avid fitness freak for many years, I still have really muscular arms, back, and legs. So, thinking of this, and then thinking of my “ideal body” (125 graceful, gazelle-like pounds of lean muscle and Scandinavian bone structure) I realized that, I am actually going against the things that I DO like about my body. Why?? Well, to fill the societal stereotype, of course. But the reality is, it doesn’t matter how many non-calories I consume, I will never look like the models and actresses that we all supposedly want to look like. I am, although not chunky, a pretty mannish-looking girl. And heck, I think I may actually be starting to be OK with that! This is all coinciding with my discovery of Crossfit. Since I’m way behind the times and fads and things, you all have already probably heard of it. My super hot and cool chick cousin Sara recommended it to me, and I have to admit, it took me several hours of browsing their website to figure what the hell it was all about, but now that I do, I am REALLY liking it. Basically they post a “Workout of the Day” and they are short, punchy, intense, workouts where you basically give it your ALL for a few minutes of each exercise. This is right up my alley! I totally despise, and get super bored, spending 45 minutes on a treadmill or exercise bike or rowing machine at a static pace. And I’m sure my mind’s boredom and lack of enthusiasm is shared by my body, who is really just saying, “Ok, enough already, when can I eat next?” And yeah, when I am doing that kind of stuff, the focus is always on burning calories, losing weight, etc…. whereas with this Crossfit stuff, it is all about your Personal Bests, breaking your own records, pushing through those walls and challenging yourself. Which, yeah, I enjoy a great deal. I mean, it is really Man-oriented, and specifically, Military-oriented, but you know what, there is no reason why you couldn’t do it to be a strong, hott, chick. And that is what my new goal is. Strong and hott. Rather than skinny and hot. Not Ms. Bodybuilder Canada Beefsteak, but lean and muscular and hott. I can already feel my body responding, after today’s “WOD” of 400m row, 21 jump squats, 15 pushups, all times 3, as fast as possible. And I was so HUNGRY when I was done, I must have burned a lot of calories. I immediately ploughed my favourite snack, a toasted english muffin with butter and jam, and some bran cereal. Not particularly healthy choices, but at the same time I don’t feel the usual self-deprecation that goes along with evening snacking, especially on such high-carb choices. Instead my body feels full and happy. So yeah. New stuff. I like it. Join me!

Regards,

M

Leave a Reply

